Why do I need a hauling permit?
A permit shall be required for movement on the highways of the
State of Delaware when any vehicle, vehicle combination, vehicle
and load combination, and/or equipment or machinery being moved
under its own power exceeds the dimensional and/or weight limits
set forth in Chapter 45, Title 21 of the Delaware Code.
How do I contact the Hauling Permit Office?
'Click' on the Contact Us link on the Main (menu) screen. Telephone
/ fax number and email address will display for the Hauling Permit Office.
Additionally, telephone numbers for the Help Desk, various DelDOT sections
as well as other state agencies will display for your use.
How and where do I send funds to replenish my Fund Account?
Refer to paragraph 14, Maintaining a Fund Account in the DelDOT Oversize Overweight permit System USER GUIDE.
Click on the User Guide link under the INFORMATION group of links to the left.
Why do I have a Customer Code and a Fund Account Number?
The system was designed for all customers to have a Customer Code
and Fund Account number, if applicable. (Not all customers have
a Fund Account such as Counter Customers and Customers who use
a Permit Service). The Customer Code associates the Address,
Telephone/Fax Number, Point of Contact, etc with the Company
Name. The Fund Account number is used for fund transaction(s)
for customers using the online system or purchase their permits
at a county counter location using the fund account.
How much does a permit cost?
Currently the minimum cost for a permit is $10.00 ($30.00 for
a Superload (see Superload question below)). For overweight
loads there is a weight fee of $5.00 for every 8,000 pounds
(or portion thereof) for weight over the legal weight limit
of the vehicle. Additionally, if the move uses one or more of
the three toll roads there will be a $11.00 flat fee for each
How many days do I have to make my move?
Hauling permit duration is five (5) days (Effective Date - Expiration Date).Permitted
loads moving in the State of Delaware are authorized to move from sunrise to sunset
Monday - Sunday unless otherwise noted in the Special Provision section of the permit.
How do I extend the Expiration Date of my permit after it is Validated (purchased)?
On a Validated (purchased) permit the expiration date may be extended up to 3 days do
to a breakdown of a piece of equipment.To request extending the expiration date you
must contact the Hauling Permit Office.
How do I determine the Holiday travel restrictions?
Office closure and holiday restrictions can be viewed by 'clicking' on the
Holiday Restrictions link on the Main (menu) screen.
When and why do I need an Interstate permit?
Federal regulations require the State of Delaware to establish
the Federal Bridge Formula as the limiting factor for the determination
of legal weights on the Interstate road system. The Delaware
Department of Transportation in conjunction with the Delaware
Contractors Association established a permitting program to
allow three and four axle vehicles to carry loads on the Interstate
roadways within Delaware that are otherwise legal on all other
roads within the State under grandfather clauses in the Federal
law. In order to qualify under the grandfather provisions, the
permit must be a single trip permit.
What constitutes a Superload?
A move is considered a Superload if the Length is at 120 feet,
or the Width is at 15 feet, or if the Height is at 15 feet,
or the Gross Weight is over 120,000 pounds. Superloads and moves
involving a GVW under the superload classification will be subject
to individual axle weight analysis by the DelDOT Bridge Management
Section. The Bridge Management Section will automatically review
permits with an individual axle weight greater than 28,000 pounds,
however, analysis may occur at a lower weight on a case-by-case
basis. Permit tee is responsible to effectively distribute a
load or reduce the overall weight below this axle limit, as
necessary, to lessen the higher live load forces overstressing
state structures. Superload permit reviews could take up to
three (3) days.
What are Permanent and Temporary Route Restrictions?
Permanent Route Restrictions are routes that are limited to
vehicles with destinations inside the prescribed areas. This
applies to all oversize and/or overweight loads up to 120,000
GVW. Requests for through movements will require individual
analysis. Delays of two (2) working days will be typical. Reasons
for exception shall be in writing. Temporary Route Restrictions
are routes that are limited to vehicles with destinations inside
the prescribed areas for a specific time frame. Temporary and
Permanent Route Restrictions can be viewed by clicking on the
Permanent Route Restrictions road sign or the Temporary Route
Restrictions road sign located on the login screen.
What does the status Pending Bridge mean?
See What constitutes a Superload? Question above.
What does the status Pending Signals mean?
Permit requests of 15 feet or greater in height are routed to
the DelDOT Signal Supervisor for review and approval action
for the clearance of DelDOT signal equipment upon approval of
Pending Route, Pending Bridge, or Pending After Hours status.
In this status the permit will undergo a manual or automated
Signal Supervisor review. Permit will remain in this status
until the customer has contacted the appropriate county Signal
Supervisor and obtained clearance. Customer must contact each
appropriate county Signal Supervisor to discuss move. Signal
Supervisor/Agent will in turn take appropriate approval action
on the permit. If load passes through New Castle County call 302-326-4589;
if load passes through Kent or Sussex Counties call 302-739-4366.
What does the status After Hours mean?
If the customer requests movement after hours the status will
change to Pending After Hours upon approval of Pending Route
or Pending Bridge status. In this status the permit will undergo
a manual or automated After Hours review. Communication between
the customer and a Traffic Representative may have to take place
before permit can receive an Approved status.