Skip to main content logo

Delaware Department of Transportation

Stormwater Management

NPDES Permit Documents

DelDOT is regulated under the U. S. Environmental Protection Agency's Phase I and Phase II permit programs for municipal separate storm sewer system (MS4) discharges.

Phase I NPDES Permit

All of New Castle County was required by the U. S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to obtain an NPDES permit under the Phase I NPDES regulations. New Castle County, 12 municipalities, and DelDOT are jointly responsible for implementing a Stormwater Pollution Prevention and Management Program under this permit.

Phase II NPDES Permit

DelDOT also has a Phase II NPDES permit for stormwater discharges in the urbanized areas of Kent and Sussex Counties. This includes areas of Dover in Kent County and Delmar in Sussex County.

Annual Reports

DelDOT is required to submit annual reports on its Phase I and Phase II permit activities to the Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC) and the U.S. EPA. Copies of the most recent reports are provided here.

Annual Report Archive

 ADA Information