

STATE OF DELAWARE

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 800 BAY ROAD P.O. BOX 778 DOVER, DELAWARE 19903

JENNIFER COHAN SECRETARY

COUNCIL ON TRANSPORTATION

Meeting Minutes

Monday, April 15, 2019 at 4:00pm DelDOT Administration Building, Farmington/Felton Conference Room

COUNCIL MEMBERS PRESENT:

Ted Williams (Chairman), John Gilbert, Martin Lessner, Lee Beetschen, Pam Scott, Bobby Fifer and Tom Holmes

COUNCIL MEMBERS ABSENT:

Carolyn Thoroughgood

DELDOT STAFF PRESENT ON RECORD:

Jennifer Cohan, Secretary, Nicole Majeski, Deputy Secretary; Drew Boyce, Director of Planning; Ken Feaster, DOJ/DelDOT; Shanté Hastings, Deputy Director, Transportation Solutions; Amanda Giuttari, Finance; Melanie Carlson, Finance; Anson Gock, Planning; Mike DuRoss, Planning; and Amanda Belford, Planning.

ADDITIONAL ATTENDEES ON RECORD:

DJ Hughes, DBF

Chairman Williams called the meeting to order with a review of the February 25, 2019 Council on Transportation (COT) Meeting Minutes. Councilman Beetschen made a motion to approve the minutes, Councilman Lessner seconded the motion, and the minutes were unanimously approved.

Drew Boyce updated the council on the biennial CTP and that it has passed the House and Senate. It is now on the Governor's desk for signature. Drew explained this will not have any impact on the Council's schedule for this year and have a normal public comment this calendar year. He briefly review how the council will meet after the biennial CTP is finalized. Councilman Lessner asked if a new timeline would be provided. Drew stated a timeline for council would be provided when it is refined. Drew then explained the purpose of the meeting held today is to provide more details of the enhanced prioritization process. Better data and better information to make better decisions is the



COT Meeting Minutes Page 2 of **2** April 15, 2019

ultimate goal. The meeting today is for informational purposes and there will be additional informative meetings prior to the Council is asked to take action. The vote is estimated to be in December.

Drew reviewed the current DelDOT CTP prioritization criteria, which was adopted in 2013. Reasons to consider the change to the process were discussed and how the changes will address current Federal and State initiatives. Drew introduced Mike DuRoss and Anson Gock to the Council. Mike and Anson are Planning staff who are assisting with the project prioritization criteria.

Mike began the presentation with a description of DelDOT's mission statement, our vision, the goal and how those relate to the prioritization criteria and prioritization subcriteria. The remaining presentation was a discussion by Mike, Anson, Council, and attendees on the potential changes to the Prioritization criteria. Areas of discussion included: Safety, System Operating Effectiveness, Multi-modal Mobility, and Revenue Generation/Economic Development. There was a review of the Transportation Economic Development Impact System known as TREDIS and how it is applied. There were some input and output samples displayed and key points on how TREDIS works. The presentation reviewed the impacts on community enhancements, and social and health elements. The presentation concluded with a description of the 4 levels of investments for Transportation.

Chairman Williams thanked the presenters for the time given. The Council discussed the next meeting, which was predicted to occur in 6 weeks. Drew explained the next meeting would go deeper into details on the criteria. Chairman Williams asked the Council and Public if they had any questions. DJ Hughes shared comments on his thoughts regarding safety issues in various locations in Sussex County.

With no additional comments or questions, Councilman Williams requested a motion to adjourn the meeting. Councilwoman Scott made a motion to adjourn the meeting and Councilman Gilbert seconded the motion.

Respectfully submitted, Amanda Belford, Recording Secretary

