

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

800 BAY ROAD P.O. BOX 778

JENNIFER COHAN SECRETARY

COUNCIL ON TRANSPORTATION

DOVER, DELAWARE 19903

Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, August 4, 2015 at 4:00 PM DelDOT Administration Building, Dover Conference Room

COUNCIL MEMBERS PRESENT:

Pete Nellius (Chairman), Irwin G. Burton, Lee Beetschen, Bobby Fifer, John Gilbert, Marty Lessner, and Ted Williams

COUNCIL MEMBERS ABSENT:

Sue McNeil and Carolyn Thoroughgood

DELDOT STAFF PRESENT ON RECORD:

Jennifer Cohan, Secretary; Nicole Majeski, Deputy Secretary; Drew Boyce, Director of Planning; Shanté Hastings, Deputy Director Trans. Sol.; Robert McCleary, Chief Engineer; Mark Alexander, Director M&O; Hugh Curran, Director of Finance; Lanie Thornton, Finance; Rich Paprck, Chief Operating Officer DTC; Earle Timpson, Delaware Transit Corporation; Geoff Sundstrom, Director of Public Relations; Evan Park, Office of the Secretary; Barry Benton, Asst. Director Bridge Design, Annie Cordo, DOJ/DelDOT; LiWen Lin, Director Technology & Innovations; and Amanda Belford, Planning recording secretary.

ADDITIONAL ATTENDEES:

Matt Bittle, Delaware State New; MJ Guyette, Cianbro Corp; James Dawson, Delaware Public Media; Brad Barrie, Laborer Union; Jon Offredo, The News Journal; Natalie Barnhart, RK&K; James Wilson, Bike Delaware; Raymond Harbeson, Transportation Strategy Group; and Sabrina Lessner, member of the public.

Chairman Nellius called the meeting to order with a review of the February 23, 2015 Council on Transportation (COT) Meeting Minutes. Councilman Fifer made the motion to approve the minutes as written, seconded by Councilman Lessner and the minutes were unanimously approved.

Secretary Cohan opened with welcoming statements and appreciation to the council members for their role in the COT. She gave remarks with a PowerPoint presentation highlighting New Revenue/Funding for the Transportation Trust Fund (TTF), Borrowing Strategy, and Major Projects by County included in the FY16 Capital Transportation Program (CTP). Councilman Beetschen expressed concerned regarding the 3 SR1 grade



separated intersection projects in Kent County being under construction at the same time. Secretary Cohan stated it will take some coordination on DelDOT's end and that we have been working on traffic mitigation. Robert McCleary reiterated by giving examples of past traffic mitigation efforts. Secretary Cohan explained it will have minimal traffic impacts and requested that the Council be aware and assist DelDOT with messaging to the public the benefits of the improvements. Councilman Lessner inquired about the next steps on the 301 after the financing approval is received. Secretary Cohan explained that after the approval from the TTF loan is received, DelDOT will be releasing the two largest bids first. Chairman Nellius asked if the Bridge Preservation Funding would adequately address the deterioration. Barry Benton reviewed the efforts to address deterioration through the State of Good Repair. The Bridge Preservation will rehabilitate, reconstruct, maintain, and preserve our bridges.

Secretary Cohan continued the meeting with review of the FY16 CTP Highlights handout. She reviewed the additional revenue for the TTF through HB 140 signed into law on July 1, 2015. She reviewed the projects moving into construction in FY16 and new projects added to the CTP. Councilman Williams questioned how the SR 1, South Frederica project got moved up. Drew Boyce explained that the CTP approved in February 2015 had the project to begin construction in FY17, this change advances the project one year. Although the technical score did not change, projects are also reviewed by their construction readiness and eligibility of funds. Since the SR 1, South Frederica project was ready for construction and will assist with obligating funds in FY16 it was moved up. Councilman Williams then questioned how SR1, South Frederica got moved ahead of Elkton Road. Drew Boyce explained that the Elkton Road project would not be ready for construction in FY16 and that it is being advanced as fast as the schedule would allow.

Secretary Cohan reviewed the Draft FY 17-22 CTP including the new projects and modifications. Drew Boyce reviewed the procedural steps, which include public hearings in each county through September 2015, another COT meeting in October 2015 to review public hearing comments, and a final COT meeting in February 2016 to adopt the FY 17-22 CTP.

Chairman Nellius addressed the council and asked if there were any additional questions. Councilman Burton asked if SR1, Cave Neck was on last year's 6-year CTP and if it was driven by the Overbrook Town Center. Drew Boyce explained that all of the SR1 projects originated from the SR1 Corridor Capacity Preservation Program. SR1, Cave Neck was on the list for an interchange. Chairman Nellius then opened the questioning to the other individuals in attendance.

With no further questions, a motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Councilman Burton, seconded by Councilman Lessner, and unanimously approved by the Council.

Respectfully submitted, Amanda Belford - Recording Secretary